Shepherd needed a shepherd: A pastor commits suicide

Posted: April 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Got news a few days ago that a local Baptist pastor killed himself…uh huh, sadly you read correctly. Its estimated that 734,000 people attempt suicide every with 30,000 men, women and teens successfully completing the job every year! The numbers are staggering: Every 17 minutes someone ends their life!! 2/3 of them are struggling with depression. 

 

Ministers are at risk for suicide, depression, high blood pressure, obesity, drug abuse, alcohol abuse, and divorce in dealing with the super pressure environment they live and serve in. It is estimated that 1500 pastors a month throw in the towel and leave the ministry for other career fields. Many feel discarded and failures. Shepherds need a shepherd too. Shepherds need someone they can feel safe and discuss their struggles without being looked down on.

This pastor who committed suicide spoke of pressure in the church from criticism that he thought was growing everyday (he was pastor 25 years) and pressure at home to the point he reasoned this way out was best. He closed his note by saying, “What I have done is not an act of insanity. My thinking is very rational. This way everybody gets what they want. They say that sooner or later you make everyone happy. Some when you come. Some while you are there. And, some when you leave. Well, now everyone is happy.” 

NO MY BROTHER….not everyone is happy and I’m sad you thought they would be. 

Dear reader…check on your pastor(s)! love he and his family and let them be imperfect like the rest of us. Spoil them with kindness ever so often. I promise it will come at just the right time. Give some grace and pray pray pray for your pastor(s) today that Satan will not get the advantage.

If you would want to read this pastor’s suicide letter please go to my FB page and scroll down till you read my intro to it. www.facebook.com/pathand1?ref=tn_tnmn

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Johnny Prettyman says:

    When the world around you is unreasonable, it makes sense to look for a way out. This poor guy didn’t understand all of his options. The world can be a cruel place whether or not you are in a church. Unfortunately, churches can be some of the worst. I praise the Lord for the good churches that love in word and deed. I greatly appreciate the words of Solomon – Better to be poor in a house of peace than to be wealthy in a house of strife. I am paraphrasing, but having chosen either a temporary or possibly permanent state of poverty, I can testify that peace is far better than strife. And daily bread is sufficient with God’s grace. He promises to take care of His people. My mind is most healthy when my hope is most purely placed on Him.

    • pathand says:

      On the mark bro! Unbelievably sad. Did you read the hurt and pain behind the words? That had been there for awhile I think. Pray for the family and church devastated by his irretrievable decision.

  2. Russ says:

    I found you via a share on Facebook – the topic felt like a punch in the gut. I grieve for the Pastor’s family and congregation, but I also grieve for the church – to have lost another guy…hurts us all.

    May your joy be full today.

    • pathand says:

      I felt the same way when I read his note. I hope this gets out so far as to land in to the hands of a pastor that will seek help because of it. That’s my prayer! Thanks for stopping by. Come again.

  3. inkpaperpen says:

    This is so sad, but unfortunately all too common. Thanks for sharing!

  4. The Rider says:

    This is so sad! But I have been very near that edge myself in ministry…

  5. Helen Barker says:

    I read this with great sadness. Not only for this pastor, his family and church but for my own family. My Christian step-son committed suicide last October and left no message. We were devastated and left wondering what on earth was going through his mind. He had been so happy all that day and was making plans for his future. When he came home he had words with his fiance and went upstairs, closed and locked the bedroom door and shot himself. When I read the last of this letter it really hit me! That is how I have pictured his thoughts at that moment. There were many personal things going on in his life that I won’t go into but I can see that these words were his. He was so well loved that it was inconcievable to us that he did this but I’m sure, like this minister, he did what he felt he had to do. His choice, as my husband said. That’s what we have to accept . Families and loved ones don’t always see this coming!

    • pathand says:

      I’m sorry for your loss! Closure is difficult when there are no answers. I pray for grace and peace for you and your family. Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

